top of page

Help a Ugandan woman with quintuples-3 girls and two boys

Save Community Care Foundation made a courtesy call to Ms. Sofiat Mutesi, a 37-year-old woman who previously gave birth to twins. Later, triplets have given birth to quintuplets, three girls and two boys. Check update here

Ms. Sofiat Mutesi, a resident of Nawaikoke Village, Kibale Sub County in Namutumba District, Eastern Uganda, went into labor at Ivukula health center III on Saturday night at around 9 pm and moments after, she delivered a boy weighing 1.5 kilograms.

She was, however, rushed in an ambulance to Iganga-Nakavule Hospital in Iganga District to avert any complications after it emerged that she was carrying more than one child.

Ms. Maureen Babine, a midwife at Iganga-Nakavule Hospital, said Ms. Mutesi, upon arrival at her unit, gave birth to the second baby, a girl weighing 1.5 kilograms, at around 11 pm. She then delivered a boy, a girl, and lastly, a girl weighing 1.3 kilograms, 1.6 kilograms, and 1.4 kilograms, respectively.

“She had a normal delivery, and the five babies have been in a health condition. Unfortunately, this week the children and the mother are not fine because they lack money for the hospital bill and basic needs for both mother and the five children. Ms. Babine (a midwife) said, “For the years I’ve worked in this hospital, I’ve never seen someone giving birth to five children. We have mainly had twins and triplets but never got quintuplets. The babies were delivered full term, but they were just small and needed care,” she added.

Ms. Mutesi said that she was surprised after delivering five children because, during her antenatal visits at Ivukula and Nsinze health center 1V, she was examined and told that she had only two babies in her womb.“I was surprised to deliver five children because when I went for a scan at Nsinze health center, medics told me that I was carrying two children,” she said, appealing to well-wishers to help her with items and money to be able to raise the children in good health.

“I first gave birth to twins, then triplets but lost one and their father and have now given birth to quintuplets. I’m currently in the Hospital (Private Room No.2) and helpless,” she said. Mr. Bilali Masale, her new husband, said the quintuplets bring the number of children he now has to 20. “I already have many children of my own from other wives, and I’m now adding five children. I request the NGOs, Community Based Organizations, Churches, Individuals, Volunteers, and Well-wishers in all countries in the world to help me because I have nothing,” he said.

Please, if you feel as you want to support this woman check her update and her babies, please contact us.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page